Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher Honors 80th District’s 2017 Women & Girls of the Year

Students, Non-Profit Leaders, Community Activists Among Honorees

CHULA VISTA – (Monday, March 27, 2017)California State Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D-San Diego) recognized more than 40 local women and girls at her 80th Assembly District Women & Girls of the Year Award Ceremony, held at Chula Vista High School this past Friday. Amongst the honorees was MABPA members Nora Vargas, Vice President of Community & Government Relations of Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest. The event is hosted annually by Assemblywoman Gonzalez Fletcher to celebrate the women who have contributed to our community, each with an inspiring story and exemplifying courage, tenacity, leadership and service.

“These amazing women have done so much for our community and we should be inspired by their example,” Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher said. “I am proud to honor such an accomplished and distinguished group of women and girls.”

The honorees represent a cross section of the community and were selected after being nominated by members of the public in categories including, but not limited to, activism, arts & culture, business, civic engagement, community service, education, health, environment, labor and youth empowerment. Girls of the Year honorees include student body presidents, valedictorians, peer mentors, national champion team captains, young philanthropists, Junior Legislators and more. All honorees live, work, attend school or have made substantial contributions to the empowerment of residents in the 80th Assembly District.


Assemblywoman Gonzalez Fletcher’s 2017 Women of the Year:

Jacqueline Jackson, Advocate for the disabled community & non-profit executive.
Devonna Almagro, Executive Director of Sherman Heights Community Center.
Shauna Stokes, former Assistant Director, Chula Vista Department of Recreation (Retired).
Aimee Cuellar-Martinez, Educator & Youth Mentor.
Jaye Carballo-Braun, Coach, Educator & Special Needs Mentor.
Evelyn Huerta, Advocate for Students in Need.
Mireya Galvan, Small Business Owner.
Mona & Nada Dibas, sisters and President & Vice President of Southwestern College Associated Student Organization.
Susie Murphy, Executive Director, San Diego Mountain Bike Association.
Josie Talamantez, Community Activist & Scholar.
Chantal Marie Branscomb, Performer & Scholar.
Carla Holland, Director of the South San Diego Small Business Development Center.
Ileana Ovalle, Advocate for Environmental Justice and Equity in Education.
Mirella Lopez, Editor-in-Chief, The Sun & El Sol Magazine.
Maribel Gavin, High School Principal & Community Activist.
Ramla Sahid, Founder & Executive Director of the Partnership for the Advancement of New Americans.
Sharon Ramirez, Chief Operations Officer, San Diego Building Trades Affordable Housing Corporation.
Mona Rios & Alejandra Sotelo-Solis, City Councilmembers, National City.
Nora Vargas, Vice President of Community & Government Relations, Planned Parenthood of the Pacific Southwest.